All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Jensen Beach, Fla., is delighted to announce it has presented $280,600 in college scholarships to Class of 2018 seniors from Jensen Beach High School and South Fork High School in Martin County, Fla. The scholarship awards were made in collaboration with the Sirote Charitable Foundation, Henry Sumner LeDuc Fund and DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Fund, all operating under the auspices of the church. This is the second year in a row that scholarships presented by All Saints’ Church have totaled more than a quarter of a million dollars.

“All Saints’ Episcopal Church is proud to be one of the largest sponsors of graduating seniors in our community thanks to the generous scholarship funds established by and in memory of our parishioners and friends,” said the Reverend Walter Frisby Hendricks, III, Rector. “The recipients, who are chosen through a long, careful selection process, are all exceptional young adults and we wish them the very best of success in their college careers.”

The DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Fund was created in 2010 through the generosity of the late Donald DeFiore and his partner of 51 years, Clarence “Buddy” Glover, a Martin County resident and member of All Saints’ Church. It was their wish to provide scholarships to worthy local students in need of a “financial lift”. The eight South Fork High School Seniors who each received a 2018 DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Award of $1,200, include: Georgie Arsenault, Sandra Francisco Juan, Madison Garrity, Lee Parisi, Olivia Pratt, Melissa Sansevere, Rai’me Weaver and Katharine Williams.

Since the DiFiore-Glover Fund was established, it has awarded more than $60,000 in scholarships to South Fork High School seniors.

The Henry Sumner LeDuc Fund, which incorporates a grant from the Gladys Waaler Foundation,  presents scholarships to members of the Jensen Beach High School graduating class each year. The selection process utilizes criteria that may include the students’ efforts in school, civic, or religious activities; obstacles overcome; personal characteristics, and work experience. This year, the LeDuc Fund presented a total of $31,000 in 2018 college scholarships to 12 students. Casey Foster, Alexis Guerra, Briann Laventure, Savannah Nardone, Shenecia Roopnarine, and Madison Wnok all received one-year scholarships. Two-year award recipients included: James Beard, Mariead Brady, Tia Cox, Kayla McDonald, and Kiara Turgeon. Madelyn Parker won the Tony Langran Memorial Award, which stresses, in addition to the above criteria, dedication to a faith-based life.

The Sirote Charitable Foundation, founded in 2002 by the late Stanley Sirote, began granting scholarships in conjunction with All Saints’ Episcopal Church in 2015 because of the founder’s fondness for Jensen Beach, where he had a vacation home for over 40 years. The most influential factors in the selection process are Mr. Sirote’s personal values: honesty, integrity, vision and evidence of hard work pursuing specific goals. This year, the Sirote Charitable Foundation made six $40,000 awards under its Scholarships for College Program (each award is $10,000 for 2018, renewable for three additional years). The Sirote Awards went to Jenna Johnston, Jenna Paton, Zach Seidle, Cameron Soviero, Zachary Soviero, and Dimaggio Tucci.

Awards to Jensen Beach High School seniors by the Leduc and Sirote scholarship programs have totaled over $1 million since 2005, when the LeDuc Fund commenced.